Friday, July 29, 2011

I am the change I wish to see in the world

Be the change you wish to see in others. Set the example. Be the leader. The things that need improvement in our lives are very obvious to us, but the ones we notice in others are even more obvious. When you notice the things in others that you would like to see changed, why not take that step to be that change and experience that change for yourself. When you take the steps to be the change you wish to see, you lead by example and then others will catch on and follow. While the change occurs in you, your energy field is changing as well and this energy emanates outward into the universe and reaches people. You can be hopeful that it reaches the people close to you, but know that you are only in control of your actions and not others. You can do your best to convince others to be a certain way, but the best way is for them to see with their own eyes, the changes you have made in your life. Be aware that people are mirroring to you the things that you see in yourself. Be grateful for your awareness of these things that you want changed around you because those are the list of things that you get to improve on of yourself. Step out of your mind and observe your life, step back into your life and be the change!

For example...
"She needs to be tidier" Be tidier, so she can see the difference between tidy and untidy.
"He needs to communicate better" Be patient and communicate with clarity, so he can see and experience the benefits of your clear communication.
"I want him to compliment me more often" Compliment him and others, so he can experience how good it feels to receive a positive comment as well as see that by complimenting others, it can bring a smile to their faces.

Once again...Step out of your mind and observe your life, step back into your life and be the change!

Om Shanti Shanti Shanti
Om Peace Peace Peace

Friday, July 8, 2011

Chakra Meditation

What is a chakra? Chakras are spinning wheels of energy in the body that start at the base of the spine and end at the crown of the head. Each chakra symbolizes something unique. The first chakra is located at base of the spine. It's called Muladhara and this red energy center represents grounding, safety, security, and survival instincts. Svadisthana is the second chakra located in the lower abdomen, sexual organs. This orange energy center symbolizes fluidity, flexibility, and going with the flow. Our energy center located at the navel is called Manipura. This third yellow chakra is all about trusting your gut instincts, confidence, and willpower. The next chakra is the fourth one located in the chest, the heart's center. This one is green and symbolizes love and compassion. Having love and compassion for yourself and others. The fifth energy center is called Visshuda and this one is blue. It's located in the throat and this one deals with creative expression through the voice and speaking your truth. Ajna is the 5th chakra located between the eyebrows. This one is purple and is also known as the third eye; our intuitive inner eye, that sees the world beyond illusions. Sahasrara is the final energy center in the crown and its colour is white. This white light symbolizes enlightenment, realization, knowing that all is one. There is a mantra (affirmation) that each chakra symbolizes. In meditation, I work from the first chakra...
I am grounded, safe, and secure.
I go with the flow of life and trust that things are always working out for me.
I trust my gut, as it always knows best.
I love myself and others and I have compassion for myself and others.
I express myself clearly, creatively, and honestly.
I see clearly and I am intuitively guided.
I am one with all.

Take this and add it to your meditation practice. This is one of my favorites because it really covers all areas of my life.

Find a comfortable seated position, spine straight to line up the energy...start to take some slow deep breaths in and out of the nose and begin...visualize the first chakra located at the base of the spine...imagine a red ruby and repeat...I am safe, secure and grounded at least 3 times. Work your way up the spine to the 7th energy center and then reverse the flow and go back down the chakras ending with the first chakra. This will allow you to come back to your grounding...the bottom three chakras are the physical energy centers that are connected to the physical world and the three above the heart are the chakras that involve a higher state of consciousness. So when you stimulate the chakras, work your way up, but you don't want to end this practice up in the clouds. You'll need to make your way back down for grounding. You can experiment with this, but I find that most people need more grounding practices, so i suggest not to experiment with this especially if you already feel that you are in lala land.

I hope this meditation practice gives you a sense of a grounding and connection to your higher self. Enjoy!!!

Monday, July 4, 2011

Don't believe everything you think

When it comes to the mind, things can get very foggy! Oneday your mind will tell you, "damn girl, you look hot!" and then the very next day it is, "you shouldn't have eaten so much yesterday, you look fat!"
What the heck is that all about? Y'know you'd think that because our minds are in our bodies that it would at least be on our side. Be the observer of your mind and don't believe everything the mind tells you. Choose to observe the mind and let the negative thoughts go.

Namaste my friends :) until next time, inhale love and exhale gratitude for where you are in this moment!